Protyre  Historic & Targa Challenge

Protyre Historic & Targa Challenge

15 Jan

By Clarissa Hearn

The awards for the Wigton Motor Club’s Protyre Historic and Targa rally Challenges will be delivered at a prestigious Awards Dinner at the Skiddaw Hotel, Keswick on February 2nd 2019.  Protyre took over the sponsorship of the event in 2018 after having acquired the previous sponsor Gates Tyres in Carlisle and Workington.

The overall winners of the Historic Rally section were David Short and Roy Heath who had a very successful run of results in their Ford Escort. There was a tie for second place drivers between David Marsden (Escort) and John Sloan (MG Midget) with Marian Sloan taking second navigator and Mike Garstang third navigator.

Other category winners:

Class/Category 1st
H1 David and Callum Alexander 
H2 David Agnew and Alan Jackson
Post Historics up to 1300cc  Tot Dixon
P2 Charles graves/Ron Palmer
C1 Classics Malcolm McKay tied with David Garstang
C2 Mike Kirk 
Targa classes  Phil Hodgson and Ian Giles 
T1 Helen Harkness and Barry Lindsay 
T2 Robert Short and Fiona Tyson 

The Challenges ran over seven rounds in Cumbria, Northumbria and Dumfriesshire with three of the events being run by Wigton Motor Club.

The 2019 series starts off on March 2nd with the White Heather Tests.

Check out more Motorsport news with Protyre Motorsport


Subscribe to our newsletter

Receive Protyre offers and our latest news