Book Class 7 MOT Online

Regardless of the size of your business, if you drive a commercial vehicle for work your MOT must be up to date. Not only is it illegal to drive without an MOT but having a vehicle that’s not running optimally can also start eating into your profits.

Don’t get caught out leaving it until the last minute – you can book your next Class 7 MOT at a test centre near you quickly and easily online with Protyre.

Book a Class 7 MOT from £29.95

Enter your vehicle registration number


Book online in 4 easy steps:

1. Enter your registration to identify your vehicle

2. Select your local Protyre garage

3. Book an MOT online with service and save

4. Choose a convenient date and time- even a same day MOT!

What is a Class 7 MOT?

Vehicles three years old and over in the UK need to undergo an annual MOT test to ensure they’re safe and roadworthy. Not only is it an offence to drive without one, but it could even lead to a fine of £1,000 and your vehicle being taken off the road.

But not all MOTs are created equal – there are different classes depending on the type of vehicle you own.

A Class 7 vehicle MOT is used to test how roadworthy medium commercial vehicles are.

The types of items checked are similar to those on the Class 4 test, but they’ll also check the tyres are suitable for the vehicle's load capacity and the brakes are up to the job.

How much does a Class 7 MOT cost?

The maximum amount of money that can be charged for a Class 7 MOT is £58.60.

To get a Class 7 MOT price with Protyre, simply fill out your registration above.

Do I need a Class 7 MOT for my vehicle?

If you have a medium commercial vehicle, you will need a Class 7 MOT.

To be classed as a medium commercial vehicle, your vehicle should weigh between 3 and 3.5 tonnes in weight. This is roughly the size of larger vans such as Ford Transits, Mercedes Sprinters and Vauxhall Movanos. Smaller cars or vans typically need a Class 4 MOT.

If you don’t know your vehicle’s weight, you should be able to find this out by checking the handbook or V5C registration document. If you’re still not sure, you can call the manufacturer’s customer service team with the vehicle details and VIN.

You must get the right MOT for your vehicle, so it’s best to take time to find out how much it weighs. If you need further guidance, contact our experts online or give us a call on 0333 060 2294.

Do all Protyre centres offer Class 7 MOTs?

Class 7 MOT tests are available at selected Protyre garages. To find a Class 7 MOT station near you, fill out an enquiry form and we’ll be able to advise on the closest garage to you. We have 15 centres to choose from, so we’ll be able to book you in at a time and place to suit you. After work or in between jobs – it’s up to you.

All our mechanics at Class 7 van MOT centres near you are trained to an impeccable standard. With Protyre, you can rest assured knowing you’re in safe hands.

What happens if my vehicle fails?

We’ve all been there. You take your vehicle into the garage thinking it’s good as new, only to be met with the news we all dread: it’s failed its MOT.

If your vehicle does fail its MOT, don’t panic. There are a few options.

  • If you have some time left on your existing MOT, you can drive the car until the certificate expires if it’s roadworthy. However, you’ll want to get it fixed as soon as possible.

  • If your MOT has expired, you’re allowed to drive your car to the garage for repair or to a Class 7 MOT station for testing. Anything outside this will nullify your insurance.

At Protyre, we like to make things simple. That’s why if your vehicle fails you can leave it with us to be repaired and we won’t charge you for a retest if it’s done within 10 days.

What do I need to bring to the Class 7 MOT?

So you can get back on the road swiftly, we recommend you bring the following to your appointment:

  • Your current MOT certificate – while not essential, it’ll help speed up the process. If you’ve misplaced yours, don’t worry as this information can be found online.

  • V5C form – If it’s your first MOT for your vehicle, bring the registration form along with you.

  • Clear van – We understand you may be dashing to and from jobs. However, if you can, it’s best to clear your vehicle before your MOT. Removing clutter will give us unobstructed access to the boot and spare tyres.

  • Wheel keys – Your vehicle will have specific keys that unlock the wheel nuts. As we’ll be checking the wheels as part of your MOT, make sure you pop the keys on the front seat ready for inspection.

  • Your wallet – Unless you’ve pre-paid, you’ll need to pay for your MOT upon collection.

Why choose Protyre

As your resident automotive experts, we know a thing or two about MOTs. With decades of experience bringing our customers low cost yet thorough Class 7 MOTs, you can be sure you’re in safe hands.

As the resident MOT experts, it’s no surprise that we’ve got thousands of happy customers. To see why we’re the preferred choice for so many, take a look at our ‘Excellent’ rating on Trustpilot.

Whether you’ve got a brand-new van or a battered old truck, come on down to a Class 7 van MOT test centre near you and let one of the biggest DVSA-approved test centre networks handle the rest.

With 15 dedicated test centres to choose from, there’s never been a better time to get a professional Class 7 MOT at the right price. Simply book online today or contact us to speak to one of our friendly experts.

How to book a Class 7 MOT with Protyre

Booking your next Class 7 van MOT at a station near you is easy with Protyre. Simply fill out your registration and book online an appointment time that suits you.

At Protyre, you can search for a DVSA-approved Class 7 MOT station near you. With so many to choose from, there’s almost certain to be one near you. Our testers are all fully qualified and test Class 7 vehicles daily, so there’s not much they haven’t come across.

If you’re looking for a reliable place to take your van, truck or high top, you’ve come to the right place. With Protyre, you can be sure you’ll receive an accurate and exhaustive MOT, plus expert repairs if you need them.

If you’d like an expert opinion or want to find out more about a Class 7 MOT, contact us online or call us on 0333 060 2294. Our friendly team will be more than happy to answer any questions about your upcoming MOT.